Jobs That Involve Professional Writing

As an English major you may feel anxious when graduation nears and it’s time for you to find a job.  You may find yourself asking, “What jobs can I do with my English degree?”  English majors get a bad rep for being a worthless degree; however, that is entirely not the case.

Melissa Suzuno received her Bachelors in English and has had a variety of jobs, all of which were successful.  I came across her post in her blog on the “After College” website.  In her post she explains in detail how English majors can put their love for writing to good use in a career.

After all, who doesn’t want a job that you wake up every morning enjoying what you do?

I chose to major in English because I like to write and communicate, so finding a career after college that allows me to do what I love every day is my ultimate goal.   Suzuno’s post gives me insight to the reality of jobs that involve writing, including the pros and cons of the jobs she has held.  No job will be 100% perfect in every way.  It’s just not possible.  There will be negatives to every job; however, it’s important for myself and others to find a job that has the positives outweigh the negatives.  This will vary from person to person.  Suzuno’s blog post is helpful with the list of jobs and their pros and cons because it allows me to determine if it is a job that I would be interested in.

Suzuno has been a proofreader, editorial assistant, copywriter, curriculum developer, content marketer, and an English teacher.

Read her blog post to see a full description on what exactly these jobs are and what a day on each job looks like.  Maybe this will help you find your “dream” job.  What do you think your dream job looks like?

2 thoughts on “Jobs That Involve Professional Writing

Leave a Reply

